Internal Complaints Committee (ICC)

(Related to Gender Awareness, Sexual Harassment and Gender based Violence at Institutions.)

Overview and Objectives:

In pursuance of the direction of the Honrable Supreme Court in VISHAKA and ORS.v. STATE OF RAJASTHAN and ORS. (JT 1997(7) SC 384), every educational Institute, including Deshabandhu Mahavidyalaya, Chittaranjan had constituted various standing committees to effectively deal with cases of violence against female students, staff, faculty and campus residents. Presently, this cell functions as the "Internal Complaints Committee" as designated under the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013.

The committee undertakes inquiries, adhering to the principles of Natural Justice, with regard to complaints of sexual harassment from aggrieved women staff and students (as defined under the Act, 2013). The complaint is kept totally confidential, and adequate protection is provided to the complainant, whenever necessary. Necessary recommendations are provided to the College Management on the basis of the findings of the inquiry. The Committee also undertakes to sensitize students on issues regarding women’s health, gender empowerment, harassment, gender based violence, patriarchy etc.

Ordinance-XV D for Sexual Harassment - Appendix-A

UGC (Prevention, Prohibition & Redressal of Sexual Harassment of Women employees and students in higher education institutions) Regulations, 2015

Constitution of the Present ICC

What can Constitute Sexual Harassment?:

One or more of the following unwelcome acts or behavior (whether directly or by implication) namely:

  • Physical contact or advances; or
  • A demand or request for sexual favours; or
  • Making sexually coloured remarks; or
  • Showing pornography; or
  • Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature.

The following circumstances, among other circumstances if it occurs or is present in relation to or connected with any act or behavior of sexual harassment may amount to sexual harassment:

  • Implied or explicit promise of preferential treatment in her employment; or
  • Implied or explicit threat of detrimental treatment in her employment; or
  • Implied or explicit threat about her present or future employment status; or
  • Interference with her work or creating an intimidating or offensive or hostile work or environment for her; or
  • Humiliating treatment likely to affect her health or safety.

How to Lodge a Complaint:

Aggrieved members of the staff and the student body can contact any of the members of the ICC with an assurance of complete anonymity and protection.

Moreover, the ICC has installed a Complaints box near the main entrance campus, where staff and students can drop there complaints and expect the ICC to get in touch with them.

Alternatively the students can also call at 7001590750 / 9732299923 / 8637334007 or mail to to relate their concern.


Internal Complaints Committee Members

Name Designation Nominated as
Dr. Mousumi Kundu Assistant Professor of Chemistry Presiding Officer
Dr. Apurbo Kumar Roy Associate Professor of Philosophy Member
Smt. Sagarika Nandy Assistant Professor of Mathematics Member
Mrs. Sanchita Hazra Associate Professor of Political Science Member
Dr. Mukul Kamle Assistant Professor of Geography Member
Dr. Shrabani Basu Assistant Professor of English Member
Mrs. Shampa Banerjee Ganguly Lady attendant Member
Mr. Ganesh Chandra Bauri Non-teaching Staff Member
Mrs. Falguni Karmakar Social Worker Member
Mrs. Rama Saha Som Legal advisor Member
Purusattam Thakur Student, Department of Bengali Member
Mahima Mondal Student, Department of Geography Member
Deepsikha, Student Department of Political Science Member

Internal Complaints Committee Members

Annual Reports of Internal Complaints Committee

Events & Reports

Name of the Event Date Report
Celebrating International Women’s Day March 24, 2023 Reports
Menstrual Health and Hygiene June 23, 2022 Reports
International Women’s Day March 8, 2022 Reports
Deshabandhu Mahavidyalaya

Established 1973 | Affiliated to Kazi Nazrul University NAAC Accredited 'B+' Grade Institution with CGPA 2.55 Recognized under 12(B) and 2(f) of the UGC Act 1956

Get In Touch



District:Paschim Bardhaman

Pin :713331 West Bengal



+ 91-341-2525 449


© Deshabandhu Mahavidyalaya. All Rights Reserved. Designed by CoderFD